Check out the beta version of the new IRCAM Forum ⇢

EventView more

Ircam concert in Santiago de Chile

Oct 13, 2017 - Oct 13, 2017

7:30pm - 9:00pm

Centro Gabriela Mistral


In the context of IRCAM Forum Hors les murs, Hèctor Parra and José Miguel Fernandez two composers invited from IRCAM will present their compositions at the Centro Gabriela Mistral (GAM) played by the DMUS Ensemble and directed by Pablo Aranda.


Partita II for violin and electronics by Philippe Manoury
17 minutes

I have come like a butterfly into the hall of human life for electronics by Hèctor Parra
18 minutes

Cell 2 for flute, B-flat clarinet, percussion and piano by Hèctor Parra
14 minutes

Fond diffus for electronics by José Miguel Fernandez
17 minutes

eQuena for quena, arcontinuo, and electronics by Rodrigo F. Cadiz 
11 minutes


Hèctor Parra
Photo Hector Parra









Hèctor Parra studied composition with Jonathan Harvey, Brian Ferneyhough as well as with Michael Jarrell in Geneva. He is a composition professor at IRCAM Cursus since 2013.

Premieres of his works have been performed by the Ensemble Intercontemporain, the Klangforum Wien, Ensembe Recherche, the Arditti Quartet, the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Radio Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, Freiburger Barockorchester, etc. His works are premiered at the international festivals of Lucerne, Wien Modern, Paris Philharmonie, Donaueschingen, IRCAM, Musée du Louvre, Guggenheim NY, Vienna Konzerthaus, etc.

He has composed five operas in close collaboration with writers such as Marie NDiaye and Händl Klaus, that has been staged by Caixto Bieito and Georges Lavaudant at the Berlin Staatsoper 2016, Schwetzinger Festspiele 2015, Münchener Biennale 2014, Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord 2014, Gran Teatre del Liceu 2010, Centre Pompidou 2009, etc.

His opera ‘Das geopferte Leben, 2014’ was nominated by the German magazine Opernwelt ‘one of the premieres of the year’, and his last opera, Wilde, has been qualified as ‘a masterpiece’ by the newspaper Süddeutsche Zeitung and the magazine Das Opernglas. Winner of the Ernst von Siemens Composers Prize 2011 and the National Prize for Culture of Catalonia, in 2007 he won the Donald Aird Memorial Prize of San Francisco and in 2008 the Impuls Prize of Graz. In 2005 he was awarded the Tremplin Prize of the Ensemble Intercontemporain. His works are published by Durand/Universal Music Publishing Classical, as well as Tritó.

José Miguel Fernandez









José Miguel was born in Osorno, Chile in 1973. He received his bachelor of music and composition from the University of Chile in 1995. In 1996 he studied computer music at LIPM in Buenos Aires, Argentina. From 2000 to 2004 he studied instrumental composition and computer music at the CNSMD (Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et Danse) of Lyon, France. After receiving his diploma from the CNSMD, he attended the one-year course in composition and computer music at IRCAM in Paris.

He composed works of instrumental, electroacoustic and mixed music. Fernández’ works have been performed in various countries and contemporary music festivals in Europe, the Americas, Asia and Australia.

He received commissions from the Cultural Council of Chilean Government, the Ministère de la Culture of French Government, Grame-EOC, EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO, Aujourd’hui Musiques, Bienale di Venezia and others.

He has been selected finalist in the Bourges electroacoustic competition in 2000 and winner of international composition competitions GRAME/Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain in 2008, Lyon, France and the Giga-Hertz Preis for electronic music from ZKM and EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO in 2010, Germany. In 2014 he has been selected by the IRCAM to follow the program composer in residence “Artistic and Musical Research” on interaction in mixed music.

In addition to his compositional activities, he has worked as computer music designer, realizing the live electronics works for many composers at different institutions including IRCAM, GRAME and La Muse en Circuit in France and EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO and ZKM in Germany.

Computer Music Designer

Benjamin Levy  – IRCAM


Nowadays computer musician and research engineer, Benjamin Levy has a double background in science – mainly computer science with an engineering school degree and a PhD – and in music – with courses of cello, composition, improvisation at Saint-Ouen, Clergy-Pontoise and Paris National Conservatoire.

He has been working since 2008 with Ircam both for scientific R&D and artistic creation. In particular, he fully renewed the improvisation software OMax between 2008 and 2013. And he also works as an audio developer in private companies specialized in audio technologies.

As a musician, he participates in various projects inside and outside Ical, tying links with contemporary music, jazz, free improvisation, theater and dance. He collaborates frequently with choreographers met in a traineeship at Abbaye de Royaumont and performed regularly on stage with jazz saxophonist Raphaël Imbert.


You can meet Hèctor Parra and José Miguel Fernandez during the Masterclass in the context of Forum Ircam

Useful Information

Centro Gabriela Mistral (Santiago de Chile)
Av. Libertador Bernardo O’Higgins 227
Santiago, Chile
[+562] 2566 5500

Starting time : 7:30 PM

Free entrance

This event is supported by the French Institute, the Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile, the Universidad de Chile, the CMM, the GAM, Foreign Ministry’s Directorate for Cultural Affairs of Chile and the National Council for Culture and the Arts of Chile.