Administrateur

• Profile picture of warusfel
  • Profile picture of T.

Spat

Groupe Public active 22 hours et 15 minutes ago

User group for Spat, panoramix, ToscA , and ADMix

Spat: WFS array setup and OSC basic setup?

Auteur 2 Utilisateurs souscrits |
Profile photo of Schroedingers Cat
Schroedingers Cat

Hi,

we want to use Spat for our current VR project where we compare different 3d spatialization algorithms. I’m a Max noob, but very experienced with NI Reaktor and signal processing. I had a look at the docs and at the tutorials but couldn’t figure out the following things:

1. How can I set up a circular speaker array for WFS?
2. How can I define/change/read the port of the OSC messaging system?
3. What is the difference between the spat5.wfs and the spat5.wfs~ module?
4. What are the “WFS Filters”, “WFS Directivity” and “WFS Files” sections in the spat5.wfs module for?
5. What is an SDIF file?

Janvier 22, 2019 à 20:37 #28940
Profile photo of T.
T.

Hi,

1. You can’t, unfortunately: wfs (in spat) is currently restricted to linear uniform arrays.
2. Typically you use the updsend or udpreceive object to make Max communicate with other OSC applications. See the help patchers for these objects.
3. spat5.wfs~ receives audio signals and applies wavefield synthesis, delivering speaker feed signals.
spat5.wfs on the other hand computes the gains/delays that should be used to render wfs. It’s up to you to use this information (or mess with it) and take care of the signal processing.
4. Given a loudspeaker, we pre-compute a number of things (using spat5.wfs.config) so that the realtime processing is more efficient (using lookup tables). “WFS filters” contains the pre-computed speaker delays/gains. “WFS directivity” contains filters for simulating directivity of sound sources; this is experimental and mostly for Ircam internal use only. A so called “wfs file” is a file containing either “wfs filters” or “wfs directivity” data.